Specialist Certification (CRCS)

Specialist certification tests the proficiency of staff involved in the processing of patient accounts and to prepare them for the many details needed to perform their daily job duties. AAHAM offers two types of Professional certification; one focused on the revenue cycle within an institutional (hospital, health system) environment and the other focused on the revenue cycle in a professional (physician, clinic) environment. Dual certification is available for those interested in obtaining certification in both specialties.

The two hour online, proctored CRCS exam requires working knowledge in focused areas of the revenue cycle including registration (front desk), billing, and credit & collections. It includes relevant regulations and acronyms, and is comprised of three multiple choice sections. Examinees are responsible for knowledge of all current Medicare deductibles and coinsurance amounts The exams are held four times a year: February, May, August and November.

Institutional sections:

  1. Patient Access
  2. Billing
  3. Credit/Collections

Professional sections:

  1. Front Desk
  2. Billing
  3. Credit/Collections

CRCS Eligibility

The CRCS exam is available to staff involved in the management of patient accounts. Membership in AAHAM is not a requirement, although it is encouraged. One-year employment in the healthcare revenue cycle is recommended to successfully complete the exam.

National Certification Web Page: http://www.aaham.org/Certification.aspx